Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Near the end

Here I will resume one oral.

Anne-Christine and Mathieu

Thesis: What does improvisation brings to people.

1.Social aspect
1.1 Who is touched?
1.1.1 Anybody can be
1.1.2 Only a few can understand and be enough creative
1.1.3 Some think it's only for younger, but there's no limit in improvisation.
1.2 A nice entertainment
1.2.1 Team spirit, leadership
1.3 What does it brings?
1.3.1 It brings self-confidence

2. Freedom of speech
2.1 Does it teach something?
2.1.1 It tought to player that you must react quickly
2.2 Does it simulate a critical sense?
2.2.1 Made them think about their own performances
2.3 Does it have bad effects on studies?
2.3.1 YES!
2.3.1.1 A lot of students who does improvisation failed one or many classes.
2.3.1.2 Some players use improvisation to renergise their days

3. Education of improvisation
3.1 It is more an entertainment or a way of expression?
3.1.1 BOTH!
3.1.1.1 An entertainment for the public
3.1.1.2 A way of expression for the players
3.2 Does it release something?
3.2.1 It surely does to some people
3.2.1.1 There are no barriere
3.2.1.1.1 People can do thing they won't do in life
3.3 It is more an art or a game?
3.3.1 BOTH!
3.3.1.1 You may be talented from the beginning or you will have to work hard

In conclusion, this oral was fun, amusing and well done. But the negative aspects where in the content, if the plan of their oral was so easy to make is that they strictly stick to it. They even only read their plan and nothing more. They pass most of their time on the play and on the "mise en scène". So, in fact, while it's a bit ironic on some points, the bad sides of their oral about improvisation is that they use too many time to "improvise".

I won't do it for another oral, because they're was so few of them during the class that I think one plan is enough for the moment.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

C9nsp1racy1

According to the little documentary we watch in class the event that occured during 9/11 were the result of a gigantic conspiracy planned by the states themselves. The event has not take the priority it should have take by the government, he took lots of time to talk about it and the commission has been giving really few money for it. Four aspects were talked about: the collapse of the twin towers, building 7, the Pentagone and United flight 93.

The collapse of the twins towers.

Everyone saw that on television, everyon in the entire world were having their eyes stick to thoses terrifying images. But actually, two building like this, hit by airplanes don't fall as easy and fast as they did if explosives were not involved. And it certainly not fire that do that kind of dammages. More strange is that witness heard explosions inside. So what,s the truth behind the collapse of thoses twins towers?

Building 7

We heard few about this one because no plane hit it, but actually it went down anyway.. Why? No explanations here!

Pentagone

If an entire plane had hit the pentagone, were he is? And why the hole he cause is so small? There is something really strange in it.

United flight 93

A lot of us have seen the amazing movie about this (me included), but is this true? Actually, cell phones don't work at this height.. So how they were able to find thoses last words that the passegers said? And where the hell are thoses people? And why there is a lack of debris on the site where they crashed? Again it looks like the government is hiding things to everyone.


So, with all thoses stranges points, it is certains that everything about 9#11 have not been said and that remains the same question: where IS the truth?

Saturday, October 25, 2008

Review on goals

First I have to say that we can't have reach any of the goals for the moment or at any time, there's always place to amelioration. But the process for every goal are going very well. For the first one I watch a lot of series in their original forms and understand them in a good way. It wasn't too difficult, it was pleasant and I can say that it's been a while that I watch tv series in english and every year I gain more abilities on understanding. For the second I watch a lot of movies in their original form too, I saw a lot of them in cinema and there's no subtitles availables in thoses conditions. But at home I mostly used subtitles so there's a lot of work to do here, but my process is going very well, and I like to watch movies in their original form, so i'm gaining pleasure every times my knowledge are growing. For the third one, it's going well too, I read a lot on the internet for informations on arts, movies and things. But i'm still searching some words. So in conclusion, the process for my goals are going very well because theses are things that completely match with my everyday life, but as I said before, there still always place to amelioration and improvement.

My oral was kinda good, wasn't he?

I really like the form that my oral takes. We worked hard (me and my partner) on the concept, on the way we want it to be, the tone and the content of it too. It's no coincidence that we choose a topic that touch our heart. In fact, thoses trip we talk about during our respectives part of our oral, really touch our heart and soul and memories too. Using a sketch as a form for the oral was certainly part of the success, we were really into it and that gives us motivation and rythm. So my rythm, the way we were alive and the precision and content of my informations were for sure big part of my success. Of course, there's a lot of things that i wanted to say and that I wasn't having enough time to say it, but basically, it was pretty nice. What was more problematic was my grammar, my syntax, my pronunciation, as well. I've search a lot fo words and things that i wanted to say, but it wasn't enough, we should have worked longer on this point for a higher note, but well, it wasn't that bad and overall, it was mostly sucess than flop.

Friday, October 17, 2008

Some kind of orals

Odile Gamache

She choose the topic about travelling. Help with the projector with some good photos of her trip, put on her blog, she was having a nice add-on to her oral.

First, she states that our way of living was too fast. That we weren't able to appreciate things and that her trip made her considering thoses things. While everything was so calm, no slow, so nice.

Second, she said that we were becoming more individualist. That we want to do everything by ourselves, not been help by anyone else.

Third, she choose a more humorous statement, saying that we have to look were we walk. Talking about when she want to take a shower and there were some unpleasant insects in it or when whe try to take a pictures of a crocodile, really near, without realizing that her life was actually in danger.

Léa Philippe

She choose the topic about a hero, an idol. Starting by enumerating some classic songs of the Beatles to go with her subject: John Lennon.

First, she states his positive traits. Saying that he use his dislexia to write songs and poems. That he was having a sensitive and reflexive perspective of life that he share with the world.

Second, she states his negative traits. Saying that he was abandonned by his parents, he was having no friends, was a trouble child that would take drugs and fight with others. He also take LSD, he wasn't the teddy boy he wanted to be, he was a rocker!

Finally, she states that beyonf everything, we had to remembering him for the way he influenced the music in such and admirable way.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Activia

Hello! Here I will summarize the oral of one of my classmates. I decide to take Catherine Yale's one about the Activia's commercial Having for thesis that this commercial is bad in every aspects.

For first arguments she's talking about the unscientific aspect of the commercial. They have graphics and analysis that look really fakes and are not proven by anything and they actually talk about a 14 days program, but what this program do actually? What effects it supposed to do on us? Never, in any case, it's explained. And in that way, this program is only use for one reason: BUY MORE!

There's also a bad representation of reality, because everyone in this commercial is beautiful. Nobody is ugly, everything is thin, nobody's fat. Like if it's really everybody who can take this yogourt or in the contrary that everybody who takes the yogourt will become like the model in the commercial.

Another aspect is that the commercial is REALLY sexist, showing only woman taking it and if a man want to use this yogourt, it shown like if it wasn't normal, actually the woman is mad because someone (a man) have take her yogourt!

So with unscientific aspect, bad representation of reality, by being sexist and by providing an abuse of belly dancers stomach (wich is really unecessary), Catherine really convinced me that this commercial is more than bad!

Monday, September 22, 2008

'cause everything need to be introduce

YEAH! I'm back! But it won't be much interesting, i'm just doing another homework.

I have to write four kind of introduction that include lead-in + the thesis for the subject that I will choose. Mine is #4: Drew Hayden Taylor writes about the myth of pan-Indianism. What myths of stereotypes exist about your culture, gender, or age group? Compare the myths with the reality.

1- Teens are all on drugs! Well, a lot of adult thinks so. But where does these kind of stereotype comes from? Maybe because where living everyday like it's the last, because we try things without thinking of the consequences or without being totally responsible. Maybe because adults have forgot their own childhood and teenages experiences. So they have to find an excuse to thoses incomprehensible actions. Well, I think that teens should have their chances and that adult should never forget their own memories and crazy stories because maybe they've done worst!

2- I know some friends that went to Europe in a school trip some years ago and they where trying to explain where they come from. Well it was hard to explain when and what Quebec was so they said that they where from Canada and so stereotype come out of the people asking if they where chasing indians and hunting moose. This show them that for a lot of people in the world, thoses who are living in Canada are some old savage or barbarian woodman. We should found some ways to show to the world what we had become.

3- Have you already thought that male where without emotions? It's actually a hard stereotype for my gender. Yes, a lot of them hide their feelings, but actually, this is a rare particularity that every humans have: feelings. And actually to be someone whose really emotional, it's hard to be a guy too. Hiding feeling is not easy and I think that we should change thoses ideas about male and not consider gay of effeminate thoses who don't apply to thoses stereotypes. It's like saying that a guy who shows his emotions is not part of his gender. Everyone on earth is different, it should be the same in gender.

4- Everyday my fathers woke up early in the morning to go hunt some moose, fish some big fish in the river behind my home for dinner and go cut some trees with his axe because he's a proud and barbarian woodman like every canadians. I mean, i'm talking about my father but all men in my neighbourhood and fathers of my friends, everyone are so retarded in civilisation! Are my statement frustrating you? Well actually, it's what a lot of people in the world think when we mentionned Canada to them! It's time to prove to the world what we, Canadians had become.

Sunday, September 7, 2008

Here, I rethink

Hi! With my teacher's comment on my Reach to the top post, I have to rethink my S.M.A.R.T. goals and clarify some point for him.

For the first goal, the reason is simple. I want to watch series in their original forms 'cause first, I like good shows and actually dubbing actually sucks.

Actually I don't have time limit because I know that I will always watch tv shows and I watch them often, so I know that I will ensure success in a good way.

For the second one, I think my teacher read the post too fast because actually I never said that I want to memorize movies, I said *MASTERIZE* a larger range of movies, wich means here, that actually the lever of comprehension will be different for, let's say an animation, an action movies or a britain one. So that's what I mean when i'm saying that I want to "masterize a more large numbers of movie in english that I will understand almost fully and not only in surface".

And since I know that I watch often movies in english, in the same scale as tv series, maybe more in this case, I know that I don't really need to give me a measure for this goal, 'cause it's something that will help me in my everyday life, so I know that I would have done it too without a S.M.A.R.T. goal program.

For the third one, I think that by reading, and reading and reading a lot lot lot, would actually be a better way to minimize the use of dictionnary, 'cause by reading a lot, words will comes and go, same one too, so I don't think that I necessary needs to impose myself a list of words that I will have to learn.

So well, it,s a little update, just to tell in a more detail way my goals.

Too much

Wow, it's been more than a week since my last post, so I will exposed my thought of the day: I have way too much homeworks in english!

God I will turn crazy, mad or something!

But I watch some episodes of series in their original form so it brings me closer to my goals. makes me way happy :-) I went to english movies in theaters too, lately. And read some articles on the internet too :-)

So well, have a nice day!

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Reach to the top!

Hi, here I will exposed three S.M.A.R.T. goals that I will set for myself before the end of this session.

First,
I want to watch more tv series that will kept my attention in their original forms (mainly english) while being able to completely understand them not only in surface but in their more subtle details. I will know if I reach it when I won't have to read about thoses episodes or rewatch them or even read some transcripts.

Second,
I want to watch more movies in their originals forms without having to use subtitles in any language they can be. So be able to understand despite their accents, their tone of voices and others circumstances that will make the listen harder. While watching a lot of them, in different level and different kind, country and some, I will be ablo to masterize a more large numbers of movie in english that I will understand almost fully and not only in surface.

Third,
I want to be able to read more article in english (mostly on the internet) that kept my attention while understand them without having to search lots of words in the dictionnary to fully understand what the article means. By reading different kind and type and sorts of article will help me masterize the different genre and when the dictionnary will only be an occasionnal tools, I will know this goal is almost accomplished.

So thoses are three S.MA.R.T. goals that I set for myself that will help me in my everyday life and that I want to reach and that i'm willing to accomplish.

Hello world!

Hi! I'm Jschartrand and i'm happy to create ANOTHER blog! And this time.. In ENGLISH! maybe I will connect to more people! Who knows?

So have a nice day.. I really ain't got nothing to say right now..